The NDIS is a scheme run by the Australian Government through the National Disability Insurance Agency (NDIA).

It is designed to support people under 65 years of age, with a permanent and significant disability, which substantially reduces their ability to participate in everyday activities.

Who is eligible for the NDIS?

The National Disability Insurance Scheme (NDIS) is for Australians aged between 7 and  65, who have permanent and significant disability; the NDIS can provide you with choice and control over supports and services to help you in your daily life.

How do I get started & am I eligible?

The NDIA has an access checklist tool to enable you to check your own eligibility.

Check you eligibility https://www.ndis.gov.au/applying-access-ndis/am-i-eligible then:

Vision impairment and NDIS

Quantum RLV is a registered NDIS provider of services for children and adults living with vision impairment.

NDIS participants who live with vision impairment are able to fund low vision supports including (but not limited to):

  • Assessments, plans and product training
  • Assistive Technology - Equipment and technology to get the most out of your phone or computer, pick the right colour clothes, cook, tell the time and more.
  • Orientation and Mobility - To help you get around safely and how to travel regular routes eg. to work, the shops or a cafe.
  • NDIS Consumables, including magnifiers and software

Quantum can support you to maximise the impact of your plan in relation to assistive technology and work with your OT or allied health professional to choose the most effective options for your needs. You can also trial equipment as part of your NDIS AT assessment. 

The NDIS explains Assistive Technology on their website and also provides Assistive technology guildelines here. 

Be sure to contact us to discuss your needs in more depth and find out how we might be able to help, before finalising your NDIS Plan, as it will take additional time to approve any revisions.

What’s in a plan, and what do the support categories mean?

There are three support categories in NDIS plans.

Core: This is funding that can be used for low-cost assistive technology and equipment to improve independence and/or mobility

Capital: This is funding that can be used for capital supports and includes all Assistive Technology

Capacity Building: This funding is focused on capacity supports for things like improved daily living skills i.e.: assessments and training to help increase skills, independence, and community participation

NDIS and supported employment

The NDIS may provide funding for employment supports to provide assistance and advice to find employment, together with ongoing support to remain employed. This could include:

  • Resume writing
  • Training on how to travel to and from work
  • Communication skills and building relationships with colleagues

Further information on the NDIS can be found here